My Weekly Menu

4 Nov

On Saturdays, I spend time thinking about what we will eat for the week and then plan out the menu and create a grocery list. This way, on Sunday, I am ready to go out and get everything I need for the entire week. For me, this saves time, money and energy.

As I’m planning my menu for the week, I make sure to think about what’s going on each night so that I can plan accordingly (i.e. if I won’t be home until later, I will plan to make something with leftovers or ask my husband to make dinner that night).

Anyway, I thought it may be helpful to post my menu’s on the blog, not only for you to get ideas, but also for me to remember what I’ve made in the past when I’m struggling to think of something to add to a new menu.

  • Sunday, 10/30: Vegetable & Chickpea Curry – I made this in the slow cooker and it was delish over a little rice with a few homemade pita chips on the side
  • Monday, 10/31: Vegetable wrap panini w/ a side of sautéed asparagus – usually I prep and my husband makes them when he gets home, but on Monday, he did it all 🙂 – we use onions, red pepper, yellow pepper, portabello mushrooms, mozzarella cheese and a little hummus…we use the Cuisinart 3-in-1 panini press, which has become a staple in our kitchen
  • Tuesday, 11/1: Leftover curry dish – this was a late night for us so I needed something quick and easy
  • Wednesday, 11/2: Steak tips (from the butcher – YUM!), basmati rice w/ peas and carrots (I’ll be posting this recipe later…love it!)
  • Thursday, 11/3: Pizza night…this is another meal that my husband always makes and it’s SO good. I do the prep work and he creates it. We use a beer pizza crust dough from a local restaurant and top it with chopped tomatoes, broccoli, baby bellas, artichoke and mozzarella cheese. BTW…another one of our kitchen staples = pizza stone
  • Friday, 11/4: Shrimp Caesar salad – I will actually roast the shrimp and make the Caesar from scratch using an Alton Brown recipe…much healthier and tastier this way. Also, instead of making croutons and consuming all of that bread, I make a few pita chips and crumble them on top of the salad
  • Saturday, 11/5: White bean and kale (you can sub with spinach) soup – another slow cooker meal

I hope this helps. Let me know your favorite weeknight meals by leaving comments below.

Leave a Reply

