Mango Protein Shake Recipe

3 Nov

Good Morning, All! This morning, I decided to make an egg sammy and a protein shake for breakfast. Yesterday, I wrote about how much I love protein shakes and that I have them almost daily. On mornings that I make egg sandwiches for my husband and I, I typically accompany those with a shake – I make one and we split it.

This morning, I remembered that I had frozen chunks of mango a few weeks ago and so my shake recipe was as follows:

  • About 12 oz of almond milk – I buy the unsweetened 40 cal/serving from Almond Breeze
  • 2 heaping tablespoons (I use a regular spoon) of Oikos organic Greek-style yogurt (I like vanilla)
  • About 2 handfuls of the frozen mango chunks (this will serve as ice cubes)
  • 1 heaping scoop of Tera’s Whey Dark Chocolate Protein (1 serving of protein is 2 scoops, but I tpically just use 1 scoop because I’m getting enough protein in my diet and to cut down on costs)
  • Blend it up and voila! You have a delicious protein shake!

For my egg sammies, I use 1 full egg and 1 egg white that I cook in the frying pan with cooking spray. I like to add a few splashes of hot sauce as well and a slice of tomato. Sometimes, I’ll saute a little spinach in EVOO first, then add the egg on top and serve that in the sandwich with a slice of tomato – I didn’t have spinach this morning though.

Also, DON’T WASTE YOUR YOLKS…do you have a pet? I have a dog and she gets scrambled egg yolks every morning. It’s a nice treat for the pup and I don’t waste any of the egg, as I toss the shells in our compost pile.

Please leave comments to let me know your favorite protein shake recipes.

Leave a Reply

