Roasted Potatoes

29 Oct

I make roasted potatoes frequently as a starch/carb side dish. Depending on what I’m cooking, I use a variety of spices. Last night, my potatoes accompanied a grilled salmon, marinated in EVOO, crushed garlic cloves, liquid aminos (soy sauce alternative) and ground pepper. My other side for dinner was roasted brussels (those are just tossed in EVOO, salt and pepper). Here is how I prepared my taters last night.

Ingredients

  • Yukon gold potatoes (cut into 2 inch cubes – usually, I can just cut the potato into 4’s, but if they’re larger, you will have to make adjustments)
  • EVOO – probably close to 1/4 of a cup? Just drizzle to make sure the potatoes are covered, but don’t overdo it.
  • healthy does of kosher salt
  • freshly ground pepper
  • pinch of garlic powder
  • pinch onion powder
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • pinch of paprika
  • about 1.5 tablespoons or so of parsley (when it’s garden season or if I have it on hand, I like to use fresh, but I had to use dried last night, which is still just as good)

Instructions

  • Preheat the oven to 450 degrees
  • Combine all of the ingredients and make sure the potatoes are evenly coated – I like to combine in a tupperware so that I can cover/seal the container, shake it around to combine evenly and then dump onto the cookie sheet
  • Transfer the combined product onto a cookie sheet – I like to line mine with foil and spray it with cooking spray so that when I’m done, I can simply throw away the foil instead of having to wash another dish
  • Bake in the oven for about 20-25 minutes or until the potatoes are browned and fork tender. You may want to pull them out about half way through to toss them around again and make sure they aren’t sticking to the bottom of the cookie sheet.
  • NOTE – I like to start cooking them with the flesh down…I may be weird, but it seems to brown the flesh better when I cook them that side down…once the flesh starts to brown a bit, I toss them around/flip them over

Enjoy! Please leave a comment to let me know your suggested variations.

Leave a Reply

